Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Random Vista Crashes

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 dmcrooc

dmcrooc

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:49 PM

Posted 02 April 2010 - 01:30 AM

I'm no techie and I'm not sure if the recent crashes of my Vista can be attributed to the recent changes I made in my laptop.

The other day I got bored and figured I wanted to make my computer boot up faster. It doesn't really take long for my PC to boot up, just wanted to see if it can go faster. I searched the net for possible ways and found that I can change the boot settings via msconfig. I chose 2 in the number of processors and checked the maximum memory box. And then I rebooted my laptop.

My new reboot time isn't that much faster than how it used to be (really no major difference), so I switched back to using 1 processor and unchecked the maximum memory box. Then I rebooted my laptop.

About an hour after using my laptop it suddenly crashed and it shut down. Tried to restart but it would again shut down as soon as I see my desktop. I noticed that the bottom part of my laptop was getting pretty hot too. The exhaust was working fine by the way. I let it cool down a little and then I was able to use it after cooling down.