Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

What is this registry directory?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 VistaMan

VistaMan

• Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:14 PM

Posted 30 March 2010 - 02:00 AM

What is this directory used for? Please help explain to me about this registry key and the items in it as I'm a beginner

Registry editor screenshot attached. Attached File  Untitled.jpg   185.43KB   22 downloads

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 powerjuce

powerjuce

• Members
  • 321 posts
  •  

Posted 30 March 2010 - 08:16 AM

Applications listed in that key are what will run on computer boot up.

For a good tutorial on the registry take a look here: http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/demystifying-the-windows-registry/

#3 VistaMan

VistaMan
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 22 posts
  •  

Posted 30 March 2010 - 04:06 PM

Thank you. So the two items in the \Run folder, Default and SystemExplorer are the only two things that run when I boot up? I see that SystemExplorer could be from the program with the same name I have on my PC but what is the "Default" key?

#4 keyboardNinja

keyboardNinja

Bleepin' Ninja

• Members
  • 4,815 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:14 PM

Posted 31 March 2010 - 01:27 AM

So the two items in the \Run folder, Default and SystemExplorer are the only two things that run when I boot up?