Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

prospective opensuse user

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 isosoclese

isosoclese

• Members
  • 24 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:19 PM

Posted 28 March 2010 - 05:04 PM

Hello

I missed out on the free windows 7 upgrade and my laptop is getting more and more frustrating to use. I have never used any linux software before and my computer knowledge is minimal. Would you recommend opensuse to a new user? What other distros are newbie friendly? Are there any difficulties in opening/creating/modifing word documents, excel, etc? I heard somewhere that linux software can work with a lightly damaged but more or less functional hardware, is this true?

Any advice/comments/recommendations is greatly appreciated.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 MadDawg

MadDawg

• Members
  • 453 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:19 PM

Posted 28 March 2010 - 11:14 PM

Would you recommend opensuse to a new user?

I haven't used openSUSE in a while, so I can't really help here. If you still want to try it, my recommendation would be to download an openSUSE LiveCD image, burn it to a CD, and try out the OS. This can also be used to test if all the hardware is compatible with the OS.

What other distros are newbie friendly?

I've read that Linux Mint or PCLinuxOS are good for new Linux users.