Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

hosts file and propagation

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 spiderling

spiderling

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:43 PM

Posted 25 March 2010 - 12:50 PM

I am a web programmer / designer. So I need to be able to upload a site for testing prior to launch, or prior to transferring a site from one host to another. Lately some strange propagation issue has been happening. I normally try to transfer a site and change the DNS around 10:30p - 11:00p my time which is mountain time. I usually download all the site files, then I change my hosts file to the IP of the new host. Upload the site files to the new host as well as an extra file with just a couple of logos that I use to know the propagation has taken effect, and then comment out the new host IP and domain.