Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help a newb with an internet problem

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 mrmax

mrmax

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:15 PM

Posted 16 March 2010 - 08:41 PM

Hey all I'm a novice at computers but willing to learn, and I have a 3 year old Toshiba laptop that I use for work. Lately my wireless connection has been timing out more and more, it seems to time out and reset every time I try and stream a video, and lately it has been timing out for web pages that have a lot of pictures or graphs. By time out, I mean the internet will break connection, my little icon at the bottom right will cycle through no internet icon, then yellow triangle icon, then back to blue circle icon in the span of about 30 seconds (sorry for the bush league description I just don't know how else to describe this).

My wife has a newer computer on the same wireless connection that does not experience this problem. I do my best to keep the computer clean, I periodically check running programs and stop or delete the ones I didn't authorize, and I don't use itunes or kazaa or any file sharing software.

If you guys could give me some easy to understand suggestions on how to help my computer get back to the way it was then I would be eternally grateful.

Thanks,

Max

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 cryptodan

cryptodan