Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

RDC Server 2003 SP2 blue screen

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 markb097

markb097

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:18 PM

Posted 12 March 2010 - 11:47 AM

Hello all,

I am new to this so please bear with me on this. We currently have a Windows Server 2003 SP2 setup. Now here comes the problem. When a user remotely connects to it for the first time it logs in fine. When that user is inactive for a while and times out, they will then try to log back into the server. It asks for the username/password, the user will enter it in correctly, but then it looks like its trying to connect but never regains access to their account. It will just show a blue screen and the mouse pointer, nothing else.

The way I have been fixing this issue has been going into either task manager and disconnecting them or terminal services manager and resetting the RDP account.

This is a pain for both the user's and I. If they have anywork that they had open, it would be gone. Also, I will find myself doing this for multiple users a day.

Does anyone know a solution for this or why this is happening. It would be very helpful to figure out. I have tried searching different forums and haven't found much for a solution.

If you need any other information, please let me know...

THANKS for you help,
Mark