Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Need Help with Win XPPro Files and Setting Transfer Wizard

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 XPProNovice

XPProNovice

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:13 PM

Posted 11 September 2005 - 03:38 PM

OK All, I am a newbie here, so please be Gentle!

I recently decided to reload XP Pro on my laptop with a Clean Install. Before I did, I used the Files and Settings transfer wizard to transfer ( I thought) all my music and Pics as well as some application settings. When I run the Wizard again and select the file location, the wizard informs me that the file contains no stored data. I have tried copying the file off the USB hard Drive I used to save it to and on to my local drive, and still will not go through. I have also tried to use the Wizard disk maker and the Win XP cd to run the wizard with no success. Is there ant way to extract the files manually with a 3rd party program or does anyone have any other suggestions?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 acklan

acklan

Bleepin' cat's meow

• Members
  • 8,529 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:13 PM

Posted 11 September 2005 - 04:36 PM

Have you tried to view the files on a different computer? Were you using WinXP when you moved the files or were you using a different OS? Does the USB drive appear in My Computer as a drive?