Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Laptop wont boot corrupt MFEHIDK.SYS

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 Dazed&Confused87

Dazed&Confused87

• Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:07 AM

Posted 09 March 2010 - 02:35 AM

Im a newbie to the board.

I started having a problem with my dell m1330 laptop with windows vista all up to date. Whenever i turn of my laptop it wont boot it takes me to a grey screen with a white mouse and starts running startup repair and it fails and when click for more information it says that there is a corrupt driver mfehidk.sys. If i dont click for more information the cumputer just shuts down. I did try to do a system restore and two failed and one went through to go back five days. But it didnt help anything. I dont know where to go from here. I have mcafee internet security 2010 installed. I had the same problem a week ago but i just restarted it and windows startup fixed the problem. I have done some googling and found its an issue with mcafee and maybe has to do with a backup assitant, but nothing says on how to repair the driver or remove it. I did do a virus scan and cleaned all my internet files and adware removal and defrag about two days ago.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Farbar

Farbar

Just Curious

• Security Developer
  • 21,688 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:07 AM