Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

INTERNET EXPLORER 8 SEARCH PROVIDER CHANGED

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 kowski55

kowski55

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:39 AM

Posted 07 March 2010 - 10:49 PM

Greetings. I'm new to this, but here I go. I've been getting a pop-up when I go on the internet. It says, "A program on your computer has corrupted your default search provider setting for Internet Explorer. Internet Explorer has reset this setting to your original search provider, LiveSearch(search. live.com). Internet Explorer will open Search Settings, where you can change this setting or install more search providers."
This started when I started using Vuze. I thought that the Vuze program was the corrupting program. This didn't bother me too much until I got the XP Antivirus 2010. After running Spybot S&D, Avast! 5 scans and Antimalware I think the infection is resolved.
Now the home page won't download. Vuze search won't work and Windows XP search doesn't work nor can I open System Restore.
I'm using Windows XP Home Edition Version 2002, Service Pack 3, Dell Dimension 4700, Pentium 4 CPU.
I've uninstalled Vuze after the infection and reinstalled it and still have the search problems. Any help will greatly be appreciated.
Kowski55

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 StartingOver

StartingOver

• Members
  • 69 posts