Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Introduction

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 ian_a

ian_a

• Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:36 PM

Posted 07 March 2010 - 05:20 PM

Hi. I've always found this website very informative and helpful.

Like many people, I use computers in my work a lot, while not being an IT professional. I'm a data analyst (specifically, a demographer). As a public servant, I'm using a quite up-to-date IT environment. This has given me the opportunity to develop two sets of IT skills: I know my way around a professional Windows/MS Office environment pretty well; and I'm quite good at writing SAS code for data analysis.

However, the third area that I clearly need to get better at is home computing. Many of the tasks that the IT division at my work look after, I have to see to myself at home. I've muddled along with this over the years - in fact, I'm treated as the de facto IT guy in my household - but occasionally I'm stumped.

A fourth area of IT proficiency that uncovers itself here arises from the fact that I'm the Dad in a family of five, not one of the grown-up or nearly grown-up kids - they know much less about internet security, how Windows operates, and hardware. However, they're big users of mobile tech, social networking and the like. Happily, not an area I feel the need to become good at!