Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Few questions here

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Theta Epsilon

Theta Epsilon

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:26 AM

Posted 04 March 2010 - 09:45 PM

Hey, this is my first time building a computer, I do have a few questions, but first let me post the parts I wish to get/already have.

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Processor LGA775 Q9550

HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

GFX: NVIDA GEFORCE 2xx GTX Series (Well, one of the 200 ones...)
Power Supply: ?

Mother Board: Gigabyte EP43T-UD3L

RAM: CORSAIR DDR3 XMS3 RAM (8GB)

DVD ROM: SAMSUNG 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 16X DVD+R

The ones in bold are the ones I already have, I am pretty sure they're compatible, but being a first time builder I thought I should check, I probably should have checked BEFORE buying them, but I didn't think to do that.

My only questions here are:

What power supply should I get? I know nothing about these, I asked a friend but his only advice was "Make sure it's at least 750 Kw/h". Suggestions please. :thumbsup:

I do believe I have all the parts for a new computer on my list (I am getting a case sent to me), but is there anything I should add or that I am missing?