Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

1st external HD to buy for backup & recovery?

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 RAY11

RAY11

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:29 PM

Posted 27 February 2010 - 05:30 PM

I'm a student at a collage in photography. Am starting to fill up desktop and laptop with pics.So I plan to buy an external HD for storage,backup and recovery.Have already bought 'Acronis True Image Home 2010' for the program to be used.Now I need to buy the external hard drive.I plan to get a 1TB or 1.5 TB with 3 hookups to insure long term (5 years) usage for when I will soon need to get new computers.Hookups:eSata,firewire 400(1394a),USB 2.0.My desktop computer is a 2004 Compaq Presario SR1230NX with 3 open USB 2's and 2 1394's and a free direct to motherboard serial port.My laptop is a 2006 Toshiba Satellite M115-S3144 with 4 USB 2 ports and a i.Link 1394 port (unknown pin numbers). I've never done this before!
I have been on the internet looking at various sells sights and have seen so much negitive feedback on all the brands that I am led to believe there is no such thing as quality control any more. I see either glowing reports or scathing examples of the drives going down in anywhere from 2 days to 3 weeks. It dosen't seem to matter what brand; Seagate,WD,Toshiba,Iomega,Hitachi,Fantom Drive.etc.etc.etc.