Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

something blocking virus scanner install

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 bicycle.minden

bicycle.minden

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:09 AM

Posted 27 February 2010 - 10:18 AM

I am an experienced computer tech trying to install a virus scanner on a client's 32-bit Windows Home premium 7 computer. I downloaded and ran RKILL before using any other software. I have already run comboFix and Malwarebytes in safe mode and they found stuff but nothing really serious besides Security Antivirus, which Spybot 1.62 removed. I also used an elevated-privileged notepad and cleaned out all the malicious entries in the HOSTS file.

One note on combofix: I think the Gmer module may have failed to run because i got an error during that part of the process. it was a long night so I didn't record the error.

When I try to install either AVG 9 paid version or NOD32 the install fails when it gets to the "starting services" area and an error box appears saying that the service failed to start. I disabled UAC and ran the installs as an administrator but the installs still proceed. After each failure I have used uninstall tools to scour the system for traces of the failed install. [I have NOD32 running well on my personal Windows 7 pro system and it installed without a hitch, so I know it's compatible.]