Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Some validation help.

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Doug E Fresh

Doug E Fresh

• Members
  • 224 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:45 PM

Posted 24 February 2010 - 10:39 AM

I'm really new at this, and my page looks pretty good on the 7 or so browsers I've tested on. The problem: when I run it through the W3C validation it comes up with 37 errors and 1 warning. The problem is I don't understand what their issues are with my page. They seem like really basic errors, but when I look through the code I can't figure it out.

# Error Line 113, Column 11: end tag for "tr" omitted, but OMITTAG NO was specified

</table>

You may have neglected to close an element, or perhaps you meant to "self-close" an element, that is, ending it with "/>" instead of ">".

# Info Line 105, Column 11: start tag was here

<tr>

Error Line 275, Column 37: XML Parsing Error: Opening and ending tag mismatch: table line 270 and td

</td>

These are the most common errors. If someone can give me some ideas on what the problem might be that would be helpful. From what I've googled I keep running into people saying that it's open div tags, but it's not. The few that I used are closed. This web form is an application, so there's lots of tables within tables. I'll be happy to post code if requested. Thanks.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)