Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help me!

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 rain05

rain05

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:34 PM

Posted 05 September 2005 - 09:03 PM

i am new to linux os. i am using win 2k right now. my friend tell me that linux is the best
i am unsure of installing linux as my os because i have no knowlege of it.

here are my questions:
1. does linux has low system requirements?
2. if i install microsoft softwares (office 2003, etc.) does the system will allow it.
3. does it have good desktop? what i mean is does it look good?
4. how manageble is it compared to win xp?
5. is the security systems strong?

i have heard that many versions of the OS are available.
what is the best versions?

thanxxxx......

Edited by rain05, 06 September 2005 - 02:37 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 awg1011

awg1011

• Members
  • 61 posts
  •  

Posted 05 September 2005 - 10:02 PM

I'm also new to Linux and have been learning a lot and still have much much more to learn.

There are many diffrent distros, it's open source, so anyone who wants to, can make their own version.

I'm running Ubuntu Linux on a 450mhz, 256 RAM, it's a little slow, but it works just fine, as far as min requirements, you'd have to check with each distro.