Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Router drops connection on and off

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Lukin922

Lukin922

• Members
  • 53 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:55 PM

Posted 16 February 2010 - 09:37 PM

I have a D-Link DI 524 wireless router that I have been using now for over 2 years. Recently, the router seems to drop the connection which requires me to unplug and then replug in the router. Once I have done that the router works fine, sometimes for a few days, sometimes a couple of hours. I can't seem to lock down what exactly causes the problem, but it is just gotten to be a real nuisance. I have my desktop connected directly to the router via Ethernet cable and also use a laptop via wireless. I use the desktop most often so experience the problems with this computer more often than not.

Can anyone offer any suggestions to prevent the intermittent drop of internet connection?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 DSTM

DSTM

"Bleepin' Aussie Addict"

• Members
  • 2,649 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:55 AM

Posted 17 February 2010 - 01:08 AM

Hi Lukin922. For what it's worth,I had a Netgear Router doing the exact same thing.

Unplugging had little or no effect.

I fixed my problem, by going into the Router, and selecting Diagnostics,

and rebooting from there.

Hasn't dropped my internet connection since. :thumbsup: