Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Opinions on possible build?

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 xblindx

xblindx

• Banned
  • 1,923 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:51 PM

Posted 15 February 2010 - 07:00 PM

Hi everyone :thumbsup: its time for me to build my own computer :D I have never built one before but I have wanted to for a long time, and so here I am.

I am on a pretty tight budget, <$400 and wanted your thoughts on this barebones kit: http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleD...st=Combo.328144
From there I can find my way around for the CD/DVD drives, sound cards, hard drives, etc, but I just wanted to know if you guys thought that the parts in that kit were any good. Ive calculated this out:
$190 - barebones kit (Motherboard, CPU, RAM, Case)
$20 - CD/DVD drive
$80 - Hard Drive
$30 - Fan/Heatsink for the CPU

Total = roughly $320 excluding shipping

The onboard graphics on that motherboard are supposed to be quite good, so I am not worried there

Any thoughts would be appreciated :huh:

Edited by xblindx, 15 February 2010 - 07:01 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 56,302 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:51 PM

Posted 15 February 2010 - 08:46 PM