Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Possible Infection: Windows acting weird constantly after a while

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 exm

exm

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:35 AM

Posted 13 February 2010 - 11:59 AM

Hi,

Let me start off by saying that I work in IT so hopefully I do know what I'm doing. :thumbsup: Since a few days my computer is acting strange (and it might be after I downloaded and installed the legitimate (?) hxxp://www.fatwallet.com/forums/expired-deals/988413?highlight_key=y&keyword1=keylogger What's happening is that my computer boots fine (although slow as usual) and then after maybe 30 minutes to an hour orso starts slowing down to a point where I receive error messages like 'iTunes can't write file', iTunes (or any open application) window itself turns blank, icons disappear, when I click Start nothing happens, etc. I do have my Task Manager open and I don't see anything unusual (high CPU / Mem or VM usage) so I suspect an infection of some sort. Usually this behavior is normal when a computer runs out of memory (from my experience) but I really don't see why/how.