Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

huge windows folder

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 sri66

sri66

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:38 AM

Posted 11 February 2010 - 02:01 PM

Hi all, I am a novice at this but try to get info from the net and work out solutions. Pls help

My OS is windows XP SP3
The windows folder is now 23 GB and progressively growing. I used the Disk clean utility, uninstalled many programs etc. but of no avail.
I then read a post that the Installer folder usually gets inflated everytime a security update or any programs fail to install or uninstall. Sure enough the installer folder was 19.9 GB. The fix for this was a Windows Installer cleanup utility that I downloaded from the Microsoft site. But it did not help much brought it to 18.9 GB.

Yes I recall that since some time now many the service packs did not install due to installation failure - error could not be installed.

Now the Microsoft office 2003 shortcuts don't work and I don;t know how to fix them

the hard drive is partitioned and windows and other programs are on C: drive while all my documents are on E drive. HDD capacity 160 GB about 30 gb per partition

Now pls help me with
1) how do I reduce the size of the windows folder
2) How do I fix the M.Office icons/shortcuts

Or
Should I simple reinstall Win xp ? - if so how?

many thanks