Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

ZoneAlarm problem

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 wrg

wrg

• Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:02 AM

Posted 09 February 2010 - 07:27 PM

I am running XPPro SP3 with all current updates. I had to format my drive and re-install Windows and all my programs. I have been using ZoneAlarm for several years with no previous problems until now. After re-installation, upon startup, Windows Explorer runs very slowly. Example, if I click on MyComputer, it make take up to 30 seconds for it to open. Then if I select a drive to explore, another 15 to 30 seconds. To trouble shoot the problem, I decided to start with my taskbar and stopped the first item on the left, which happened to be ZoneAlarm. Explorer then operated normally. I restarted ZoneAlarm and Explorer continued to operate normally. Now, every time I shut the computer down and start it back, if I close ZoneAlarm immediately after it loads and restart it, Explorer operates normally. If I don't, it doesn't. Nor does any other program I start manually, unless I stop and re-start ZoneAlarm. I contacted ZA support and they were useless and actually caused me more problems by having me modify msconfig. They had me stop all services and I had to enter Safe mode to get Installer service re-started.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 xblindx

xblindx