Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

A few Ubuntu questions

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Doug E Fresh

Doug E Fresh

• Members
  • 224 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:35 AM

Posted 05 February 2010 - 01:21 PM

I have a couple questions. I have Ubuntu dual-booted with Vista and I'm quite new to Linux.

1. This site is displayed in Times, and I don't know why. I have my Firefox preferences set to sans-serif, but it didn't change. In Firefox on my Mac and in Vista this site is Arial, so I'm wondering why it shows up as Times in Ubuntu/Firefox. Not a big deal, it's just hard to read.

2. When I open Rhythmbox, it never finds my music until I mount the OS, which I believe is the Vista partition of the hard drive. So, is there a way to have this automatically mount upon startup?

3. I want to import my itunes xml to rhythmbox, so that all of my playlists and ratings are added.

Like this, though I don't know how to actually make this happen. itunes to rhythmbox ratings

Do I need to have all my music on the Ubuntu partition to do this? I'd prefer to leave it where it is, as I only have 60GB for Ubuntu and adding 30GB of music is not something I'd like to do.

If I need to copy all my music over, then forget the third question, though I'd still like my 'OS' to mount on startup if possible.

Thanks.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 MadDawg