Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

spybot download

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 cpm392

cpm392

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:11 PM

Posted 02 February 2010 - 03:02 AM

Hello, I'm a newbie and this is my first post. I'll try to keep this short and to the point, but I just found or learned most of this in the past three days. When I download spybot search and destroy, I get a message saying my host file has changed. When I found the hosts file, the only address was 127.0.0.1. The first line reads "# start of entries inserted by Spybot- Search and Destroy". Some of the entries are www.sexlinks.com, www.007guard.com, and www.1001namen.com. I have a copy of the file on my desktop, but I don't know how to post it here. There are over 14,000 entries of this sort. My question is this-- has anyone else had this happen? Does this mean spybot is malware? I downloaded from cnet.com which I trust. I would appreciate any explanation or advice about this. Thanks in advance. cpm392

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Stang777

Stang777

Just Hoping To Help

• Members
  • 1,821 posts
  •  

Posted 02 February 2010 - 04:16 AM

Hi and Welcome to BleepingComputer,