Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Need work laptop buying advice

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 language_buddy

language_buddy

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:13 AM

Posted 01 February 2010 - 11:08 AM

Total computer novice here. In the past, I've simply used whatever work has provided me...

Here's my dilemma. I need to get a new laptop for work pronto - problem is all of that techy info that they provide with computers is like a foreign language to me and we don't have IT support that can advise me. So, unfortunately for me, that leaves the task of buying a new laptop all up to me. Me, who simply likes to power up the computer and gets a headache when trying to troubleshoot the simplest task. I've heard good things about Acer and Asus but am completely unfamiliar with these brands. Are they reliable? Suited for work purposes? When I say work, I mainly use the Microsoft office products and a bit of Adobe Photoshop. Other than that, just general Internet use and file storage for photos, logos and such. I generally have several programs running at the same time as I'm writing, editing, referencing. An acquaintance has a Sony Vaio - is that one better for some reason?