Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I have a clean install and want to delete the old install


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 keyboardNinja

keyboardNinja

    Bleepin' Ninja


  • Members
  • 4,815 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:teh interwebz
  • Local time:05:59 PM

Posted 31 January 2010 - 11:39 PM

Okay, here's my situation:

I have Windows 7 Pro on my laptop. I neglected to do a clean install back last year when I installed it (I now regret that). I wish to have a clean install now.

So, I partitioned off, and did a clean install (leaving the old OS intact until I make sure everything is migrated). Spent a day installing all my programs, configuring settings, etc (not as bad as I thought it was going to be, especially after having to do it twice on my netbook when things screwed up)....works great except for one minor issue that I posted about here (maybe I can get some help in that topic, too).

After I had confirmed that everything was the way I wanted it, and I hadn't forgotten anything, I was going to delete the old OS, "recover" the new one to consume the whole drive, and do the obligatory startup repair (I did this when deleting Vista, and moving entirely to 7, so it's nothing new to me).

The only problem is this: the new installation is a logical partition instead of primary. I don't know enough about this specific subject, but I do have an inkling that something isn't going to work correctly once I do the whole "delete-recover" manuever.

Here is my Disk Management screenshot to tell the whole story:

Posted Image

Ignore the Virtual XP and Vista logical partitions. They are just there to keep my virtual machine hard drives from fragmenting with the rest of my files.

Is it possible to do a delete-recover like I have done before now that I'm dealing with a logical partition instead of primary?

Thanks,
keyboardNinja
PICNIC - Problem In Chair, Not In Computer

Posted Image Posted Image

20 Things I Learned About Browsers and the Web

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 ratchet48

ratchet48

  • Members
  • 207 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western US
  • Local time:06:59 PM

Posted 01 February 2010 - 07:19 AM

I also need to do the same thing with Mojave, I mean Vista. I found IT Dojo: Remove Windows 7 or Vista from a dual-boot configuration with the Bootsect command.

I am going to do a good back up of 7 first.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users