Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Trojan.Win32/Olmarik and XP Internet Security 2010

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Dark_

Dark_

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:05 AM

Posted 26 January 2010 - 12:41 AM

Hello. I have been messing with computer security for about 5-6 years now, so i'm far from new at removing computer infections, or navigating through the registry and so on, just to put that out there to begin with.

My computer stats are:

Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Version 2002
Service Pack 3

Lately, (about 1-2 weeks) in Firefox 3.5 (my default browser at the time, now 3.6) began acting strange. I would be on websites such as youtube, or other websites, and in a new tab it would head to a random website, which would redirect about 5 times to either a page asking me to download something, or it would be some kind of spam. I at the time figured it was adware, and scanned my computer with the tools i had. (AVG Free and Malwarebytes) AVG found nothing but tracking cookies, and Malwarebytes found nothing.

The problem persisted.