Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Worm.Win32.Netsky on Dell Inspiron 6400

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 byrnish

byrnish

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:44 PM

Posted 25 January 2010 - 09:33 AM

Greetings, I am a newbie to the forum and am here looking for advice on an increasingly annoying/worrying problem to do with the worm.win32.netsky virus.
Since Saturday I have made various attempts to boot my Inspiron 6400 (running Win Xp SP2) using normal boot up, safe mode & last known good configuration, etc etc.

Up until this morning I kept receiving the Spyware Alert! warning message just as my peronsal settings are loading telling me how bad this virus is and what it can do...but when I click the Ok button (the only option available), nothing happened.
When trying to boot in any type of Safe Mode I only receive a Blue Screen with no errors except for "-?" displayed in the top right hand corner of the screen.