Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Quarantining

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 wwein

wwein

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:33 AM

Posted 22 January 2010 - 10:41 PM

Hey guys

I'm a computer tech by trade and work from home. Customers bring me their computers, I fix them and give them back. Of course, occasionally I'll receive a computer with various malware infections. Unfortunately, these days all the best malware removal tools (adware, spybot, avg, etc) require online installation and updates. Between that, windows updates, and the convenience of downloading files directly to their computer, I frequently add them to my home network.

Being tech-happy, I have various folders on our menagerie of home computers shared, some with write-access, and others with sensitive information (client contact info etc). As I know malware likes to explore networks, I always take the precaution of disconnecting all our home computers from the network before connecting the customer's computer. This is getting old fast! I'm wondering if anyone knows a safe way to put a computer onto a network to allow it internet access but NOT file-sharing access. Bare in mind we're often dealing with badly infected computers (including nasty root-kits), which means turning off file sharing on the infected computer is not good enough.