Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

The newbies linux

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 acklan

acklan

Bleepin' cat's meow

• Members
  • 8,529 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:51 PM

Posted 26 August 2005 - 02:12 AM

I am a Linux newbie. I have Slackware 10.1 on a P-III 500mhz, and Red Hat 9.3 on a P-II 266 mhz. I have been trying to learn them for about a week with Slackware and 2 with Red Hat. I am not having a good time.

Until I found Puppy Linux. It is referred to as a live CD verison. It is 50 to 60 meg. You burn the ISO image to a CD or DVD and boot form that cd. In about a minute or two you are up and running. In a couple of more minutes you are on the net ( I use a cable modem ). It comes with Open Office Lite. A verison called Chubby Puppy has a few more features.
You will need at least a 200 mhz, and 128 mb of ram. You will also need 50 meg of hard drive with this amount of ram. If you have 256 mb of ram the whole program will boot into a Ram Drive that it will make when it boots. If you have a CD or DVD burner you can set it up to burn your data and preferences back onto the disk. And once booted you can still use the CD/DVD drive just remove the boot CD/DVD