Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Audio Vanished!

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 blowupthemoon

blowupthemoon

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:22 PM

Posted 18 January 2010 - 11:58 AM

Hey, im a newbie here and would appreciate any help you guys could give me.

Im having a problem with my Sony laptop sound card. When i boot up i hear the start up sound (before windows loads) but when i get into windows i have no sound at all, no system sounds or anything. ive reinstalled all my drivers, plug and play enumerator, realtek ac97 drivers, all the motherboard drivers, UAA microsoft stuff and am totally tired of this! whats strange is, under device manager it states all my audio drivers are working properly but when i enter control panel > sounds i have "No Audio Device".

heres some details i got from Everest which could be useful (note: under the "windows audio" tab i have nothing!):

Motherboard Name Sony Corporation VGN-S5HP_B
Intel 82801FBM ICH6-M - High Definition Audio Controller [B-1] PCI

im running Windows XP.

if anyone could help me out id be massively grateful and if you need any more system information let me know.

thanks in advance!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Baltboy

Baltboy

Bleepin' Flame Head

• Members
  • 1,432 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:22 PM

Posted 18 January 2010 - 12:10 PM