Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Install Linux Beside Windows 7

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Oakley

Oakley

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:14 AM

Posted 16 January 2010 - 08:16 PM

Hello,

I am pretty new to the Linux world but even though I only know a little bit I am in love!
Anyways let me get to my point.

I have Windows 7 on my laptop but I am wanting to install another OS right beside Windows 7 so when the laptop boots up I can choose either operating system.
How would I go about doing this, I have Ubuntu 9.04 on disc but I am really liking Kubuntu 9.10 which I am downloading to Laptop right now.

So how can I go about running two OS on the same hard drive.
Also I am using a wireless router to get internet to my laptop, I can still use that with linux correct?

Shelby,

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 buddy215

buddy215

• 13,262 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:14 AM

Posted 16 January 2010 - 09:02 PM

It is called "dual booting"---Windows 7 and Kubuntu.
Below are two links. The first is for Kubuntu's site's FAQ. The second is instructions
for installing Kubuntu. Read the entire install procedure before proceeding. Note to backup and
defrag Windows before installing Kubuntu.
If you had no problem with 9.04 using wireless then you should be OK with 9.10. You should