Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Redirected when using google toolbar search

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 mommy41

mommy41

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:49 PM

Posted 15 January 2010 - 08:59 PM

Hi,

I'm a computer novice and need some help with a virus that is redirecting me when I search using the Google toolbar. I receive the list of search results , but when I click on a result I am redirected to various sites. Most oftern it's Enhance.com, but sometimes it's different sites. Sometimes, I am not redirected at all.

I am using IE 8.0 and running AVAST virus protection. I am also using Malwareytes Anti Malware to scan for spyware but nothing seems to be able to remove this virus.

I would really appreciate some help.

Thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hwkd

hwkd

• Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:49 PM

Posted 15 January 2010 - 09:31 PM

First of all try searching the forum for "search engine redirects" or similar variants of that term.

You will see the experts processes/approaches. Plus, you will become familiar with the terms/approacehs/processes that will be advised, which will make you more confident when it is time for you to proceed.