Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Wanting information about these FakeAlert! strands

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 flex-it services

flex-it services

• Members
  • 85 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:40 AM

Posted 15 January 2010 - 11:55 AM

So, I work in the Oilfield industry.
A lot of these folks don't know much about computers. And they are all out in the field. (with the exception of those we have in our corporate and sales offices).

I'm getting a lot of these:

AntiVirus 2008 (Back when i started dealing with these)
AntiVirus 2009
AntiVirus 2010
Internet Security 2010 (trial)
System Defender

etc. I usually see anywhere between 1 -6 a week that come in. Obviously the antivirus our company is using (sadly is panda :thumbsup: )
And I have no say in what the company orders.

I'm curious is there a similar method where people are getting these? I know its not over a network, or shared divises. I'd like to block some sites if possible in the host file if that'll help.

Or if anyone has an idea on the best "monitor" that would help against this. I realize, though, that its not possible to have total protection with one anti-virus software.

So my two questions are:

Where are these being generated from?
And what is the best method to guard against them?
~~~
It's not what you say, it's how you say it.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)