Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

need some advice

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 dome089823

dome089823

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:51 PM

Posted 15 January 2010 - 08:11 AM

frist off let me say hello to all, i'm new to the fourms and came here for some advice with a few thing that i need to get done. first off my home comp is a gateway with xp pro now we just built a daiquiri shop and i'm in the process of installing a hard wire alarm and a web ready dvr video system which i have the manual on that tells me how to hook it all up.but my guestion for now is #1 can i network xp pro to xp home? or do i need to make sure i get pro when i get the comp for the store.
here is what i'm wanting to do,when the alarm goes off it gives me a call,then i go to my comp networked to the store look at all 16 cams an see if any things going on or not,are just be able to view the store at any time. the store will be on dsl and my home comp is dial up [cant get dsl] :thumbsup: so if some of ya grurus could give me some advice i would be very greatful.i have never network comp,i do know some about them but nothing about networking

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Baltboy

Baltboy

Bleepin' Flame Head

• BC Advisor
  • 1,430 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:51 PM

Posted 15 January 2010 - 09:55 AM