Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows 7 64 bit idles 100% CPU

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 kilgorecemetery

kilgorecemetery

• Members
  • 37 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:23 AM

Posted 13 January 2010 - 10:08 PM

I'm still new to Windows 7, but I have a computer that uses 100% of the CPU at all times. I've done 2 clean installs with windows 7 64 bit with the same outcome. Am I doing something wrong? Is there something that's not working with the 64 bit? Any info would be useful.

Here's the setup:
MSI P6N-SLI mobo
Intel® Pentium® 4 Processors 640 3.2GHz
4GB(2x2gb) DDR2 800 Super Talent
nVidia GeForce 8400 GS
Windows 7 Ultimate Version 6.1(Build 7600)

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Animal

Animal

Bleepin' Animinion

• Site Admin
  • 34,528 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:23 AM

Posted 13 January 2010 - 10:15 PM

What process/es is consuming all the memory? Can you give us a breakdown?

The Internet is so big, so powerful and pointless that for some people it is a complete substitute for life.
Andrew Brown (1938-1994)

A learning experience is one of those things that say, "You know that thing you just did? Don't do that." Douglas Adams (1952-2001)

"Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination circles the world." Albert Einstein (1879-1955)