Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Lost wireless capability upon cable to DSL switch

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 ezecomputer

ezecomputer

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:00 PM

Posted 12 January 2010 - 05:04 PM

I've been operating just fine for the past two years with Cable/cable modem/Linksys WRT110 wireless router until we decided to replace the cable with AT&T DSL yesterday.

AT&T sent me a modem only as I already have the wireless router but now I can only get on the Internet using an Ethernet cable (and I can't send emails using my Windows Live Mail). I followed the instructions from ATT to set up the modem (including shutting off my Norton Firewall) and activate my Internet Service. Their website does not have instructions for installing the Linksys WRT110 but it does state that the router must use PPPoE? and I need to enter usernames and passwords, and it has a few other settings details. I'm confused further because I ran across something called DHCP?? which looks like this is what I should be using.

I also tried reinstalling the wireless router CD. Still nothing works and I can not find the wireless network as an option to choose from.

Laptop
Vista
Installed the DSL filter for the Gateway
Modem: Motorola 2210 (2210-02-1006)
Wireless Router: Linksys WRT110
ISP AT&T/Yahoo
IE8 (also have FireFox)
Norton 360