Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Windows update unable to check for updates.

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 jimtheratdigriz

jimtheratdigriz

• Members
  • 14 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:40 PM

Posted 11 January 2010 - 02:43 PM

I'm a computer tech here in KS. I've been working on a customers laptop since I came in this morning, and this problem is driving me mad. In the past I've rendered good results from support at bleepingcomputers, and hope the same in this situation.

Basically, this customers laptop refuses to allow updates. Any microsoft KB article related to this problem I have done, and redone, as well as various suggestions on the net. I just recently tried reseting the update system, and BITS, with no luck because now when I try to re enable update and bits through cmd as administrator, I now get an access denied return.

Like I said, I've tried everything short of reinstalling (we make it a policy to stray from reformats or re-installs); I can't even do an upgrade in any timely fasion because as usual, the customer forgot to bring their disk while they are running vista x64, and I just have the 32 bit disk. I've heard repair via upgrade works, but that isn't an option.

So I need to get rid of the access is denied, and see if any of my efforts have paid off which I highly doubt.

Thanks in advance for any help!