Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Greetings from the heart of the Blassgrass

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Jokester

Jokester

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:13 AM

Posted 11 January 2010 - 01:07 PM

Hi Folks,

I'm new to support forums, so feel free to input if I make any mistakes. I have had a long history working with computers, back before there was anything considered a PC. I find the though I've had experience on mainframe and mini computers, the PC is one of the most perplexing of any I've dealt with due to its inconsistencies. Unlike mainframe and minis, where the manufacturer of the hardware wrote the software, the PC works on "canned" software, where the hardware is "compatible" at best.

Thus we find ourselves here, where we come to discuss and hopefully resolve problems with the technology in our lives. I had exposure to Personal Computers shortly after their introduction in 1981, but didn't own my own until 1991. I have no problem with the hardware, but like many the software and the issues with it can cause much frustration at times.