Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

TrojanSPM/LX

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Coach64

Coach64

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:46 PM

Posted 09 January 2010 - 10:17 AM

First off, I am new here and found this site while searching for info about the virus I am dealing with. As I am sure you will be able to tell, I am a relative noob, and don't know much about this kind of thing. In the past, I have "plugged nd chugged" my way through these kinds of issues until I found a fix, but this one is making me crazy. Thank you in advance for taking a loook at this, and I appreciate any help you might be able to offer.

I have two computers, my personal laptop and my business laptop. This is dealing with the problem on the business laptop.

A box appears before desktop fully loads:
“Security Warning! Worm32.NetSky detected on your machine. This virus is distributed via the Internet through e-mail and Active-x objects. The worm has its own SMTP engine which means it gathers e-mails from your local computer and re-distributes itself. In worst cases this worm can allow attachers to access your computer, stealing passwords and personal data. Viruses and can damage your confidential data and work on your computer. Continue working in unprotected mode is very dangerous.
Type: Virus
System Affected: Windows 200, NT, ME, XP, Vista, 7