Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Alienware gaming computer? I have never done this before?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 technohobbit17

technohobbit17

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:14 AM

Posted 04 January 2010 - 10:20 PM

I need a new computer. It will be used for gaming. Will these specs be enough? What should I upgrade?

Processor: Intel® Coreā„¢ i7 920 2.66GHz (8MB Cache) Quad Core Processor
Video card: Single 1GB GDDR5 ATI Radeonā„¢ HD 5870
Memory: 6GB Triple Channel 1067MHz DDR3
Hard drive: 1TB - SATA-II, 3Gb/s, 7,200RPM, 32MB Cache HDD
Optical drive: Single Drive: 24X CD/DVD burner (DVD+/-RW) w/double layer write capability
Sound card: Creative Sound Blaster® X-Fiā„¢ Xtreme Audio
Monitor: 22" Dell ST2210 Full HD Widescreen Monitor

Will this be enough to play the newest games on high settings, and new titles for a reasonable length of time? Particularly the 2.66 ghz processor?
I also want to ensure I will be able to upgrade parts easily later on. This will be easy, right?

Thanks

Edit: Moved topic from Internal Hardware to the more appropriate forum. ~ Animal

Edited by Animal, 04 January 2010 - 10:50 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 youthedog4

youthedog4

• Members
  • 110 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:14 AM

Posted 05 January 2010 - 03:51 PM