Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Search results redirected to quest booster

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Kat91119

Kat91119

• Members
  • 128 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:34 PM

Posted 03 January 2010 - 11:29 AM

I downloaded a file I probably shouldn't have, and what do ya know, I've got viruses now. I thought "no big deal, I'm a pro at this now...." WRONG! Its not one I've ever dealt with before and it won't go away!

When looking stuff up in google I click on the search results and I'm redirected to one of many different search sites. One called Quest Booster, another is comparedby.us, another is searchfindsite.com

I also get random popups that IE has crashed and would I like to send the error report. I don't even use IE...

AVG reported I had a virus. I moved them to the vault. Ran Malwarebytes and it too detected a few things, they were deleted. I then ran SuperAntiSpyware and it detected 3. I'm not sure how to post a log, but if I go to the Quarantined Items this is what it says:

Trojan.Agent/Gen-Alway[IE]
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\WMPSCFGS.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\Prefetch\WMPSCFGS.EXE-26E76528.pf

Trojan.DropperSys-Nv
c:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\PR11.DLL

The others were tracking cookies that were removed.