Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Making my cpu more secure need opinion

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 DEATHlLINK

DEATHlLINK

• Members
  • 110 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:14 AM

Posted 13 December 2009 - 12:43 PM

Hi,
Im still learning and definitely need to know more about cpu security. I currently have Panda Internet Security, Windows Defender for realtime protection/firewall and have mbam (free version) as a av scanner my wireless is protected by wep security. My thoughts and questions on increasing my security are as follows:

1: Firewall
A.)I went to a test site listed in this forum on a topic I can't remember the site and it said the only thing I failed was the ping/echo test so how do I fix this?
B.) Should I change to Zone Alarm or Comodo instead of Panda and windows defender for firewall?
C.) Should I invest in a external firewall and any suggestions on particular brand?

2: Wireless
A.) My Linksys router is protected via wep so I am thinking I should change this to WPA is this a smart move?

3: Spyware Blaster and Spyware Guard for browser helper objects should I install these programs as well I saw them reccomended to help prevent ?