Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Personal Guard 2009 virus

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 sidd0123

sidd0123

• Banned
  • 81 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:57 AM

Posted 12 December 2009 - 02:26 PM

Hi, I am new to bleeping computer. I recently found out that I have a virus that calls itself Personal Guard 2009. I've seen it on my computer, but became suspicious about it when my antivirus systems stopped functioning.

I have tried the following to get rid of it:

1) remove its registry. [I removed this through another site that showed me how to delete this registry, but I'm not sure it worked and I didn't want to screw something up with my computer so I stopped this approach.]

2) Physically search through desktop and delete its files. [I did that but malwarebytes still won't install]

3) downloaded a program called rkill.exe that runs through the command prompt and tries to delete PG2009 [PG2009 shutsdown the executable file before it can delete PG2009]

4) Tried running microsoft virus scan, trend micro housecall, mcafee, and malwarebytes, [most of these dont even start a scan. malwarebytes wont even install, and mcafee wont get rid of the problem, but it runs.]