Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

K9 Web Protection Causing XP Pro SP3 Computers to Reboot?

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 wesleymcpl

wesleymcpl

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:12 AM

Posted 10 December 2009 - 02:41 PM

I'm a network administrator for a small town public library. We implemented K9 Web Protection months ago on our small, peer-to-peer networks at both our library locations. It worked fine for the most part. After a few months of using it simply to prohibit viewing of inappropriate sites, I entered in EXE in the blocked words which prevented the patrons from installing things. I was happy.

Flash forward a few months after that. Our public PCs begin sporadically rebooting without giving a blue screen. Once the computer was back on, we could log into the admin and get an odd error that read something like this:

"BCCode : 100000d1 BCP1 : 00000000 BCP2 : 00000002 BCP3 : 00000000
BCP4 : F439F98E OSVer : 5_1_2600 SP : 3_0 Product : 256_1"