Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

new to computers need help understanding graphic cards

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 101stvet

101stvet

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:25 PM

Posted 07 December 2009 - 06:40 PM

Hello, i am brand new to computers, and bought a used computer a few days ago and was told to beable to play Call of duty i need to switch graphic cards. I have been researching this for a while and cant find what the diffrences are in grafic cards. This is the card i have installed-ATI Radeon 'Celestica' Gold Edition 9600XT 128-Bit AGP. I want to play call of duty modern warfair. Can someone please help me and point me in the right direction? thanks

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 PCwarrior

PCwarrior

• Members
  • 203 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:25 AM

Posted 07 December 2009 - 10:48 PM

Hello, and welcome to the forums.
I'm no pro but a couple of things stand out, about your current VGA (video,graphics,accelerator).
It does not support a thing called Direct X-10. Its sort of a program that the games use in development stage to render the pictures. Your card supports DX-9. So its not ready to build the games visual parts. Sorry, you cant add it to the card with easy software update. Your game most certainly needs the new support structure.