Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Infection pushed down to users by Group Policy

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 michaelkimbrough

michaelkimbrough

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:40 AM

Posted 05 December 2009 - 05:47 PM

Long story. I'm a teacher and part-time network administrator at my school. Our domain controllers (2) still run Wondows server 2000. I noticed two weeks ago that one of them had its antivirus program turned off (McAfee Enterprise 8.5) and I could not get it back on. After some reasearch, I deleted two old registry keys related to a previous Mcaffee install, reinstalled the software and it starts up and updates. I thought that was the end of it. Nowthis week, I'm getting calls from students saying their networked computers are either re-directing when doing Google searches or just not connecting to any web site. I scanned one of the student machines and Malwarebytes identified 7 problems: Hijack.Desktop, Hijack.Display, Hijack.DisplayProperties (twice), Hijack.Regedit, Hijack.Run, Hijack.taskmanager. These are the registry keys identified...they all start with the same thing so I'll only write that part once: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\
after that is: Explorer\ForceActiveDesktopOn
ActiveDesktop\NoChangingWallPaper