Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Should I make the upgrade?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Orange Milk

Orange Milk

• Members
  • 85 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:27 PM

Posted 04 December 2009 - 07:21 PM

Ok, here's the thing: I've been using this computer my family got for nearly the past 3 years (since Christmas 2006). It has Windows XP Media Center edition. A couple weeks ago I found that we actually had a Windows Vista Premium upgrade DVD for the past 2.5-maybe 3 years. What I was thinking of doing was buying an external HDD and then making the switch.. However, I have one main question: Is it really worth it? Also, are there going to be some things that aren't compatible with Vista that were on XP? (Such as playing Starcraft.) Is it hard to backup all files on my hard drive and reinstall them? What external HDD would be a good one to buy? 60GB would be plenty for me. (I found this one on Newegg, but I was not sure of the quality or if it's good...)

(Man, this would have been good to know back when I had to reformat my computer over the summer.)

Edited by Orange Milk, 04 December 2009 - 07:22 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 CoolCatBad

CoolCatBad

• Members
  • 233 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:27 PM

Posted 04 December 2009 - 09:22 PM