Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Web Banking Hijacked

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Horatio_too

Horatio_too

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:10 AM

Posted 04 December 2009 - 11:01 AM

Hi

Although I work in IT, it is mainly on the database & process improvement side of things and I am a little out of my depth on this one and would appreciate some help.

A couple of days ago, a friend-of-a-friend brought round his laptop which he said 'had a virus' and was generally slow, so I said I'd take a look.

The laptop already had Sophos installed and a scan showed a couple of Trojans, which it claimed to have removed (stupidly I did not note what).

Just to be sure, I popped the drive out and scanned it using our own PCs - Panda, Trend Housecall, NIS 2010 and F-Secure all claimed that the drive was clear.

Although the PC was still not 'quick', it was far better than it had been initially and as it was only a 1.6GHz, I thought nothing of it and returned the laptop.

Unfortunately, when the user logged onto his Web Banking (he uses LloydsTSB here in the UK), it was clear that something was still wrong with the machine.