Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

First-time notebook buyer Need help

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 The Lone Ranger

The Lone Ranger

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:10 PM

Posted 02 December 2009 - 12:53 PM

Hey all,

So my dear desktop computer is on the skits and I'm in the market of finding a new computer. I'm a college student so I'm looking seriously into laptops, because of the convenience.
I would like your guys' advice on which direction I should go. A couple of things:

- I'm a PC. I was pretty much born and raised on Windows 95. My current desktop has Windows XP SP3. However, I have a NUMBER of friends who have converted over to Mac, and say they're loving it. That and also I heard the majority of computer viruses are aimed toward PCs. I consider myself pretty computer literate with a PC. I feel like I know the in's and outs of the OS. I am vaguely familiar with Mac's OS, and when it comes down to it, learning a new OS is not a problem for me. In fact I would love to learn and explore a new operating system. The majority of people I've talked to say they LOVE their Macs, but PCs is always a mixed reaction; some people hate theirs, some love them. So, i'm open for Mac or PC (unless somebody has some advice otherwise).