Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

uninstall windows 7 and install windows xp

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 AhrenFox

AhrenFox

• Members
  • 37 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:35 AM

Posted 18 November 2009 - 01:44 PM

I know it might seem crazy but I need to know how to uninstall windows 7 so that I can install windows xp. I work in the oilfield and most of the programs I have are not yet compatible with windows 7 not to mention they are just coming out with patches and fixes to use them with Vista. I have a Dell computer that was purchased as Wallyworld (WalMart). I need to know how to downgrade to xp Please.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 groovicus

groovicus

• Security Colleague
  • 9,963 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:35 AM

Posted 18 November 2009 - 02:02 PM

Before you do that, maybe you should consider checking out the Compatibility Troubleshooter. If a program runs on XP, it should run on Windows 7 with no problem. Check out this thread:
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/ind...patibility+mode

If you really want to downgrade, you will need to buy an XP (Full Version, not an upgrade) operating system and install it.

#3 AhrenFox

AhrenFox
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 37 posts
  •  

Posted 18 November 2009 - 02:28 PM