Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Plugs burning :| Help!

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Siadeug

Siadeug

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:42 PM

Posted 06 August 2005 - 12:29 PM

Hey everyone,
This is my first time posting here :thumbsup: About 4 months ago my laptop AC adapter started having problems - I'd had some problems beforehand with the laptop overheating and turning off, and then I started noticing it was difficult to pull the ac adapter plug out of the back of the laptop, or that I had to push it in and fiddle with it to get the laptop to realise it was actually plugged in. On closer examination I noticed the yellow ring of plastic around the metal plug of the ac adapter (the part that plugs into the back of the laptop), was tinged and burned, and the plastic of the ring was getting deformed. Then one day, the metal pin of the plug got stuck in the back of the laptop, and separated from the cable.